Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beyond Compare as a merge tool for Team Foundation

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    Changing the output would 'cancel' the current merge, since you are no longer performing the merge with the original parameters. What was expected or why were you changing one of the path edits?

    Leave a comment:


  • mastoj
    replied
    Thanks for you reply. My setup is identical to the one in the article.

    I think the UI for the three way merge might have caused the problem. When I just save the file, without choosing where to save it in the drop down above the merge result i started working. I noticed that the status got changed to canceled when I selected file in the drop down.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    Are you currently using BComp.exe, .com, or Bcompare.exe as your configuration? Is your setup identical to the steps on the vcs kb article?
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_vcs#tfs

    Leave a comment:


  • mastoj
    replied
    I have the professional trial version. I'm trying this out to see if we should get it to the whole team, and for us to get it for the whole team merging must be working.

    The problem isn't that merging doesn't work, the problem is when I save the file the coflicts doesn't get marked as "fixed". Instead I get my error message: "The manual merge for <file name> has been canceled".

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    In addition to ischyrus' comments, if you are running Std edition, you can follow this guide to revert to trial mode and test out Pro features:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_evalpro

    Leave a comment:


  • ischyrus
    replied
    Are you sure you have the 'professional' version? If memory serves, my issue was that I didn't and only the professional version supported merging.

    Leave a comment:


  • mastoj
    replied
    Does anyone have a solution to this? I am using VS2010 with a TFS as source control. Every time I merge a file manually I get the "The manual merge for <file name> has been canceled".

    When should the change get picked up? When I save the file or when I close beyond compare?

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Are you using BComp.exe instead of Bcompare? Does your configuration match what is listed in this KB article?:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_vcs.php

    Leave a comment:


  • citykid
    replied
    Ok, I still have this issue here, can someone please tell me how I can avoid this "merge has been cancelled". I have the latest bc3 and still get this mesasge.

    Leave a comment:


  • bobrothster@gmail.com
    replied
    You sir, are awesome!

    Thank you,
    Bob

    Leave a comment:


  • Zoë
    replied
    I've already checked in a fix. The next time you see "New Version Available" it'll be fixed.

    Leave a comment:


  • bobrothster@gmail.com
    replied
    OK. So it sounds like I just need to use my workaround until the next release then.

    Is there any way to get notified when or check if a specific issue gets fixed? Or should this be a pretty easy fix and the next time an update is available via the automatic updates it should be resolved then?

    Thanks again,
    Bob

    Leave a comment:


  • Zoë
    replied
    No need to upgrade; we want BC3 standard to replace BC2. I was just confirming the issue.

    We'll change the next release so if the /savetarget switch is given it will use the same return codes as the 3-way merge.

    That command line is for the 3-way merge, but it's out of date because the /solo switch isn't needed anymore. The current TFS switches are fully documented in the VCS knowledge base article.

    Leave a comment:


  • bobrothster@gmail.com
    replied
    Hi Craig,

    Thanks for your quick response. Yes, I'm using BC3 Standard specifying the /savetaget switch. It sounds like I have to upgrade to Pro in order to get around this issue?

    My workaround so far has been to perform my merge as usual (and recieve the cancelled msg) and then try to checkin again and say "Auto Merge" and it appears to work. Of course, I have only just setup VStudio to use BC3 and so for my merges have been pretty tame. This may not work in every situation, especially if it's a complicated merge with overlapping changes.

    BTW, I've also seen the following configuration for merging in one of the other threads:

    %1 %2 %3 %4 /title1=%6 /title2=%7 /title3=%8 /title4=%9 /solo

    I assume that this is for 3-way merging in Pro?


    Thanks,
    Bob

    Leave a comment:


  • Zoë
    replied
    Hi Bob,

    Are you using the BC3 Standard with the /savetarget switch (two files side-by-side, no separate output window)? That would would set the error code to 13, which TFS would treat as a cancel. The 3-way merge in BC3 Pro sets the error code to 0 in the same situation.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X