3.0.4 HOST command support

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3.0.4 HOST command support

I'm new to beyond compare and so far, very nice software. I set up an FTP server using WS_FTP Server 5 and BC 3.0.2 and everything worked great until installing the 3.0.4 update. Now BC sends the HOST command and the server responds with "504 unknown host" error and stops. I've looked thru the WS_FTP server docs and cannot find a way to make it work again. Is there a way to disable the HOST command support in BC? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Habanero

There isn't a way to disable it (yet). Can you post a log showing the failed connection?
    Zoë P Scooter Software

Comment

Thanks for the quick (instantaneous) reply! Here is the log (I removed personal info):

9/3/2008 3:34:11 PM Username: <content removed>
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Stat> Connected.
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Recv> 220 <content removed> X2 WS_FTP Server 5.0.5 (3078497007)
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Sent> HOST [<content removed>]
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Recv> 504 unknown host
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Sent> USER <content removed>
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Stat> Disconnected.
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Connection Closed Gracefully.
      9/3/2008 3:34:12 PM Load comparison: <content removed> <->

What about running the FEAT command prior to the HOST command to see if it is supported? Or an option to disable it would work as well.

Thanks,

Habanero

Comment

Well this is annoying...

WS_FTP 5 and 6 both support HOST and give correct responses if you send a valid host. Neither includes it in the FEAT response and neither supports a pre-login FEAT. If you send an incorrect HOST to WS_FTP 5 it disconnects immediately; v6 just returns an error and lets you continue.