MRU list not updated if file not changed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MRU list not updated if file not changed

I have a vbScript that performs a programatic analysis of files in two folders and launches the files in BC3 if certain conditions are met. The script opens up to 20 text compare sessions in separate tabs. I then manually merge content from one side to the other to complete the task.

Sometimes the content that I need to copy to the right side needs to come from two different files. I copy some lines from the file that originally opens in the text compare session, then I choose another file from the MRU list to copy other content that is needed but was missing from both sides of the compare. Lastly, I need to return the left side to the original file that opened in the compare to do a final review of the changes.

Problem, the original file that was opened on the left side is not in the MRU list (or is far enough down on the list that it is no longer available). In other words, unless I've made changes to the left file that requires a save, the MRU list is not updated when I change files.

Request: It doesn't matter to me if the default MRU logic is changed, or if the functionality is implemented as an option or tweak...but, please, when I choose a new file for one side of a compare, I would like the existing file name that I am leaving brought to the top of the MRU list so that I can easily return to it even if changes were not made and no file save occurred.
    BC v4.0.7 build 19761
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Additonal clarification: