Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How does BC move files?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How does BC move files?

    How does BC move files? It copies a file completely and then removes the source file? Or it partially moves a file (like Win does as far as I know) and removes the part of the file copied file and so on?

    So if the computer / program crash or there is a power interruption or such will that cause non-recoverable files?
    Last edited by Donk; 11-Feb-2022, 04:09 AM.

  • #2
    Hello,

    Depends on the source and target locations, which BC4 supports a lot of different locations, profiles, and also could be interacting with anything bound as a drive letter. There isn't a scenario where you get half of a file due to a partial transfer; it would copy or upload the file then delete the origin when it is completed.

    I usually suggest Copies instead, though, since BC4 can then compare the source to the destination and you can verify it copied as expected, then manually clean up the source location.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Hello!

      There isn't a scenario where you get half of a file due to a partial transfer
      I somehow remember Win moves that way. And there is a program, FastCopy, which avoids moving the way files can get broken if anything unwanted happens.

      Sorry, what does that mean to the question:
      So if the computer / program crashes or there is a power interruption or such will that cause non-recoverable files?

      I usually suggest Copies instead, though, since BC4 can then compare the source to the destination and you can verify it copied as expected, then manually clean up the source location.
      Yes, but that's more effort (to clean up in a single step) and more error prone. And comparing by content takes the same time of copying.

      Comment


      • #4
        Hello,

        If a transfer is somehow ended prematurely, the origin file would still be in place, and the new file might be in any state (partial file is the most likely, I'd guess).

        This depends a bit on your workflow, but generally BC4 can filter down to specific types or criteria of files, which usually makes these clean up passes really easy. Such as showing all Equal files, and then deciding which to keep or to delete them all.

        BC4 does not support UNDO, so any actions (Move, Copy, Delete, Rename, etc) cannot be undone after performing, so it's good to review before issuing commands like Move and Delete before committing them.
        Aaron P Scooter Software

        Comment


        • #5
          Hello!

          If a transfer is somehow ended prematurely, the origin file would still be in place, and the new file might be in any state (partial file is the most likely, I'd guess).
          So if such happens while copying the only ways to to correct this is to remove all copied files and copy again or to do a compare by content because one does not know which files are copied correctly. Is that right?

          This depends a bit on your workflow, but generally BC4 can filter down to specific types or criteria of files, which usually makes these clean up passes really easy. Such as showing all Equal files, and then deciding which to keep or to delete them all.
          Yes, if all equal files shall be deleted. If there already are equal files which shall be kept how could one manage it to only find / delete the copied files.

          BC4 does not support UNDO, so any actions (Move, Copy, Delete, Rename, etc) cannot be undone after performing, so it's good to review before issuing commands like Move and Delete before committing them.
          BC deletes files / folder to the bin? Is there an option to delete / move to the bin or permanently?

          Comment


          • #6
            Right, if your computer just shut down, you could manually review the log to see how much copied and try to resume, but I'd just use Beyond Compare itself to scan and find any differences for you, which you can then correct with whatever appropriate action is needed.

            There is no method to 'Find copied files' in the last action. The assumption would have to apply to all files of a specific criteria. There are some other tricks, however, such as, as the very first step, finding all equal files you don't want as part of the comparison and Excluding (File Name Filters, or other filtering if the logic applies) them. This would leave you with a comparison of only the items you want to compare. I'd guess something like setting the Display Filter to Show Same, Expand All, Select All Files, Exclude? Then you can act on the remainder (and if you copy files, then only the new copies would show as Same as any previously same aren't included in the comparison anymore).

            The Delete dialog itself has the option: Use recycle bin if possible. If it is disabled, deletes are permanent. Note: if it isn't possible (the recycle bin isn't available for the selected items) the delete is *also* permanent, even if the option is enabled. Always carefully review before deleting any files, as there is no UNDO command and potentially won't use the recycle bin.
            Aaron P Scooter Software

            Comment


            • #7
              There are some other tricks, however, such as, as the very first step, finding all equal files you don't want as part of the comparison and Excluding (File Name Filters, or other filtering if the logic applies) them.
              Isn't there a hide option? So I could show all the equal files by filter, select all of them with CTRL+A and then just hide / unshow them?
              Ah, I should have read first the next lines. Yes, that is what I meant, I assume:
              I'd guess something like setting the Display Filter to Show Same, Expand All, Select All Files, Exclude?
              Note: if it isn't possible (the recycle bin isn't available for the selected items) the delete is *also* permanent, even if the option is enabled.
              Sounds very dangerous, so one never could trust that option when enabled? How can I find out then whether the files will be deleted to the bin or permanently?

              Comment


              • #8
                It's not under our control if the recycle bin accepts the delete, and we don't support a pre-prompt to reflect what will happen, only that we can request use of the recycle bin.

                This isn't that different than Windows Explorer itself, though in most cases it is able to pre-prompt with "these files will be permanently deleted" as an alternate dialog when there isn't enough freespace or it's from a source that can't support the recycle bin. While it's gotten better over the years about showing that prompt, Explorer is not guaranteed to catch every delete either.

                If you are about to delete something from any application, always carefully review the selected items as ok to delete.
                Aaron P Scooter Software

                Comment


                • #9
                  Ah, didn't know that, never had a situation (I could remember now) that would delete the files permanently....ah, no, there are programs deleting permanently even when delete to bin is activated in Win. But I never had a situation, if I see it correctly, that Explorer did delete permanently without warning message, e.g. when file paths are too long, there is a messeage before deleting permanently then.

                  So always treat the files to be deleted as if they can be deleted permanently. OK.

                  But strange / risky behaviing of Win anyway.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X